Quick Method to Unapply Payments from Cancelled Events

Last edited 3/15/2021
When an entire event is cancelled, it may be necessary to process refunds without removing registration data, or at least to issue refunds quickly and delete registrations later. Follow the steps below to unapply all payments quickly.

Contact Tentaroo if you are wondering if this is a good process for your event.

Step 1: Open the Registration in the Group Account

Numbers or Numbers & Names Event: From the Event's Registrations tab, select a group and click the "Open Registration in Group" button, OR open the "Select Client" tool and filter for your group. Once in the group account, upcoming registrations will appear on the group's home screen, and past Events can be found by going to Events. Click here for more information on finding a past registration.

Names Event: Open the "Select Client" tool, switch to Participants and choose your Event Type. Filter for your group and select a participant to open the registration. Use the app back button in the blue bar at the top to return to the main registration page.

User's Financial Summary Card found within an account's Event registration. "Balance" has a carrot icon that can be used to see more information.

Step 2: Unapply Payment

In the Financial Summary card, the Balance section can be expanded to view details including the total paid ("Applied Payments") toward this registration.

Select "Pay Other Amount" and enter the amount to be unapplied as a negative amount. Click Save to add it to the cart and check out.

During checkout, select either "Add Credit to Account" in order to leave the credit on file or "At Council / Other" to process the amount as a refund. Enter detailed notes about the transaction such as the reason, the refund method if applicable, and your name/initials, then click Submit Order. Learn more about processing refunds here.

Expanded Balance information. Applied Payments is the last line.

Repeat steps 1 and 2 for all groups.

Step 3: Delete Event

After all payments have been unapplied, delete the Event. The Event and data can be restored at any time, but the groups will no longer see this Event in their current or past registrations.

Deleting an Event: In the list of Events within an Event Type, use the three-dot menu and select "Delete".

 

 

CHECKOUT IS THE FINAL STEP - Remember that nothing is finalized until you check out of the shopping cart. All registrations/classes/options will be verified upon submitting an order in the shopping cart.

This also applies if no payment is due.

 

We are always happy to assist with event registration training.