Facility Blackout Dates

Last edited 10/12/2020
Blackout dates are an important and helpful part of facility reservations. There are many uses for blackout dates:

  • Prevent reservations during a council event such as resident summer camp.
  • Prevent reservations past a future date such as the end of the published council calendar.
  • Place a hold on a facility.
  • Create mass bookings in combination with admin-only facilities.
PLEASE NOTE: Blackout dates must be used when adding an event to the Event Module to prevent double booking of the facilities used for the event. Events at a location do not automatically blackout the facilities within the location. You can blackout some or all of the facilities at the location.

Add New, Edit, or Delete

Blackouts listed under the BLACKOUT DATES tab. Clicking the 3-dot menu reveals the options to edit or delete.

The Blackout Dates tab shows all blackouts at a given location. Here you can:

  • Select NEW button to add a new blackout date
  • Select the 3 dot icon to edit or delete an existing blackout date
  • Toggle Show Expired to view blackout dates in the past. Expired blackouts can be reused by moving their dates forward. Because they will apply to the same facilities, reusing expired blackouts is helpful for repeating events, such as summer camp.

Defining Blackout Dates

Edit/New Blackout Date side panel, with fields for start and end dates and times, a field to enter the reason, and a listing of included facilities with an ADD button

Select Facilities pop-up used to include facilities in a blackout

Selecting a blackout or creating a new one will open a panel where you can enter or edit its details. Each blackout must have a start and end date and time, a reason, and at least one applicable facility. The reason for a blackout will also serve as its name in the blackout list.

Clicking ADD or ADD FACILITIES will open a Select Facilities pop-up. Here you can search facilities by name or Facility Type, select facilities individually, and select and deselect all facilities of the same type within a location. This allows you to quickly blackout all cabins at a particular property, for example. Clicking SAVE in the pop-up applies your selection, but does not permanently save your changes to the blackout.

Please remember to hit CREATE or SAVE when finished.

You will also want to review the facility reports to make sure that the facilities being blacked-out are not already reserved.

 

We are always happy to assist with facility reservation training.